The Department is made up of four Units namely:

  • Bilateral Unit;
  • Commercial Agreement Unit;
  • Licensing Unit; and
  • Multilateral Unit.


In accordance with section 30(4a) and 30(4k) of the Civil Aviation Act of 2006, the Bilateral Unit is mandated to perform the following functions:

  • act as technical adviser to the Ministry on bilateral issues;
  • participate in BASA negotiations and write reports for Management’s information and necessary action;
  • evaluate documents submitted by foreign carriers for the grant of an Operating Permit;
  • attend and provide inputs into Seasonal Schedules Meetings with the Ministry of Aviation.



The Commercial Agreement Unit was established sequel to the Civil Aviation Act 2006. Part XV, Section 75 of the Act, which mandates NCAA to collect funds accruing from Commercial Agreements.


The Licensing Unit is responsible for processing and recommending for approval, the various applications for grant/renewal of Licenses and Permits submitted by individuals or corporate entities who wish to engage in air transport operations in Nigeria.


The Unit is saddled with the following responsibilities:

  • Dissemination of statutory guidelines and requirements for the grant and renewal of ATL, AOP, ATOL and PNCF;
  • Evaluation, appraisal and documentation of all applications for grant, renewal, suspension and revocation of ATL, AOP, ATOL and PNCF in line with the prevailing regulations;
  • Preparation and presentation of technical report/recommendations on various application for approval of the Air Transport Licensing Committee (ATLC) of NCAA and the Honourable Minister;
  • Preparation of monthly achievement reports;
  • Liaising with other Units and Directorates within NCAA, and other stakeholders such as the Ministry of Aviation, NAMA, FAAN, NIMET, AON, BAR, SSS, Government Printer and other national and international bodies on issues of scheduled domestic and non-scheduled international air operators in Nigeria;
  • Carrying out any other duties that may be assigned by the Management.

There are four (4) categories of Licenses/Permits. They are:

  • Air Transport License (ATL) - issued as authorization to airlines to provide scheduled and non-scheduled services;
  • Airline Operating Permit (AOP) - issued as authorisation to airlines to provide non- scheduled services only;
  • Air Travel Organizer’s License (ATOL) - issued to tour organizers; and
  • Permit for Non-Commercial Flights (PNCF) - granted to private individuals who desire to own and operate aircraft for non-commercial purposes.




The Unit has the following responsibilities:

  • To make technical inputs to multilateral issues such as involving ICAO, IATA, AFCAC, BANJUL ACCORD, and AU etc.
  • To attend multilateral meetings and write reports for the Management’s information and necessary action.
  • To prepare briefs, position and working papers for Management and the Honourable Minister of Aviation on multilateral issues.
  • To participate in organizing multilateral meetings.
  • To treat ICAO State Letters.
  • Dissemination of information on Multilateral issues and
  • Any other duties that may be assigned by the Director

Key Officials